FIRST POST!!

Hey Everyone! (Fitting title, eh? I thought so! ;))

So this marks my VERY. FIRST. BLOG POST.

EVER.

WOW.

…all that excitement out of the way..I’m really not sure where to start! I guess i’ll make this a general post today.

First of all, a happy valentines day to everyone! I don’t have a significant other, but I coincidentally had the day off work so I spent it with my family. 😉 I’ll recap!

I woke up and lazed around for about 20 mins before heading for 20 minutes with Tony and making a quite run to Pete’s Frootique with Dad! (We needed bacon for brunch and some nice bread for supper).

Pete’s is a local place here in Halifax, and I LOVE IT. He has ALL KINDS of exotic fruits, veggies, and tons of local/hard to get stuff! (I go here for a lot of my crazy organic needs, when I don’t feel like going to the Superstore ;)) We picked up bread, and a dragon fruit! The lady let us try a piece and it was DELICIOUS. We were sold. Too bad they’re so expensive though! It was a special treat. I also bought some ezekiel english muffins. After reading so much about them in other blogs I simply couldn’t resist.

We went home and made brunch I whipped up some triple berry pancakes! I started with Angela’s pancake recipe but made some modifications. Here’s my recipe;

Whole Wheat Triple Berry Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 T sugar
  • 2 t baking powder ( threw in an extra dash :))
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 1/2 c. skim milk (you could probably use any kind though!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c. frozed mixed berries (blueberries, blackberries & raspberries) thawed overnight in the fridge and pulsed for a few seconds in the magic bullet to make a sort of puree.

Mix your dry ingredients in a largeish bowl. Add your milk, whisk, then whisk in your egg. (I added a bit extra milk to thin out my batter). Add berry puree. Set this aside and preheat your frying pans~ Once those are heated throw some batter on there. Wait ’til bubbles form and flip. Makes about 6-8 pancakes depending on how big you like your pancakes.

Supper was also good! I made a chocolate kahlua cheesecake from one of my favourite cook books, Crazy Plates for dessert ! It called for lowfat sour cream, part 1% cottage cheese and light cream cheese..it tasted SOOO GOOD. I couldn’t believe it was a low fat recipe! (There’s still leftovers for tonight! Hehehe.) We also had a tenderloin roast with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed veggies for the main meal. 😉

Today I had an egg white breakfast sandwich on my new ezekiel english muffins..SOOO good. I LOVED the whole grain taste! It’s always a wonderful feeling know you’re putting good things into your body. Lunch was a huugee sandwich, and tonight we’re making stirfry~!

Phew. My FIRST post. Sorry for the wall of text everyone! I WOULD have included some pictures..but my camera isn’t working!! 😦 I plug it into my computer and NOTHING. Not even it’s official software recognizes it! I don’t know what’s wrong! (It’s a Fujifilm S2000HD by the way)

Have a good evening everyone!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FIRST POST!!

  1. Len

    Cassie, let me say I am proud to have read this post. I am definitely using this blog as a base to look for exciting new recipes, and maybe some tips to help control the flab…

    Well, maybe I could be exercising rather than responding to your blog post. BlackBerry and exercising – can it be combined?

Leave a Reply

