Pancake Tuesday!

Today was PANCAKE DAY!. What is Pancake day, you ask? Well, Pancake day, to quote, is

“Pancake Day ( also known as Shrove Tuesday) is the last day before the period which Christians call Lent. It is traditional on this day to eat pancakes.” ~http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/shrove.html

Why are pancakes eaten on Shrove Tuesday?

“Lent is a time of abstinence, of giving things up. So Shrove Tuesday is the last chance to indulge yourself, and to use up the foods that aren’t allowed in Lent. Pancakes are eaten on this day because they contain fat, butter and eggs which were forbidden during Lent.” – http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/shrove.html

Needless to say.. Pancakes are delicious . They’re my FAVOURITE breakfast food. And to celebrate, I whipped up a slightly different version of Jessica’s pancakes ! They were AMAZING.

Strawberry Spelt Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 c. whole grain spelt flour
  • 1 T + 1/4 t Baking Powder (I used a pinch more, like usual ;))
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1-2 T flax (optional, the pancakes weren’t forming at first so I freaked out and chucked in a bunch of flax…logical? Yes. I believe so.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 c. skim milk
  • 1 c. sliced strawberries
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 T (2 teaspoons, I learned this tonight :D) Orange zest

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. In a blender mix your milk, strawberries, vanilla, egg and orange zest. Add to your dry mix and stir (add your flax now if you’d like.)  Made about 8-9 pancakes.

Jessica also had a recipe for a strawberry banana syrup…which was to DIE for. It was basically 1/4 c. of both strawberries & banana and 3 T maple syrup whipped in my magic bullet. SOOO good.

Embarassingly enough I ate 4 pancakes, probably 2/3c. maple beans, a small chunk from a ham steak….and a cup of tea. I can eat so much! It always surprises people.

I think half the issue here is I eat SO fast. Mom says it’s just me bent over my food and inhaling..hahaha! I need to learn to slow down and learn how to portion control. Does anyone have any tips?

Later Bloggers! (BTW, I am also working on figuring out why my camera won’t connect…gah!)

Cassie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

